2017

img_3308

Christmas 2016 – Look at all them boys!

I know it’s cliche to start a blog as a New Years resolution, but the idea came to me and I decided to act on it. Coincidentally I just spent the past 48 hours on some pretty serious pain meds for kidney stones, which may have prompted some rather introspective moments, but I digress…

In 2017 I want to make an effort to change some things about my life, as much as it is in my control (which it really isn’t, ultimately). And anyway I’m mostly just looking for something to fill me free (ha!) time. So here are my resolutions, ya’ll:

1. Get up at the same time everyday, before the kids wake up.

This can be hard to do, since they tend to be slightly erratic with their schedules, but overall if I get up before 6:30 everyday I should be in the clear. Easier said than done… #sleepaddict

2. Get out of the house every day.

Again, easier said than done on days when the kids are mental and/or weather is not overly permissible, BUT the days are invariably better when we get some ‘outdoor’ time so I am going to make a concerted effort. Even if we just walk around the block. Note: taking Desmond to school does NOT count as getting out of the house. Just gonna nix that loophole right now…

3. Get exercise every day.

I was doing really well with this earlier in the year, before the summer of camp-hell and ‘no sleep baby’ descended, and I really want to get back on track with it. Even if it’s just a 10 minute HIIT workout every morning, I gots to get my fitness on. I’ll thank myself later. 

4. Read my bible every day.

Maybe this should be at the top of the list, but I’m just writing things down as I think of them so I’m gonna leave it here. I try to do my ‘bible in a year’ plan and have mostly succeeded, but there’s always room for improvement.

5. No more yelling.

Maybe it’s a woman thing, maybe it’s a mom thing, either way I yell way too much. At my kids, at the house (for being such a mess, duh), at my husband (he’s less understanding than the kids about it lol…) etc etc. In general I want to get my stress level down and yelling is definitely a stress inducer. I know they say it takes so many days to break a habit yadda yadda so here’s hoping.

6. Organize my life.

Another cliche New Years resolution πŸŽ‰ get organized! But for reals, you should see my house. I know have 4 little kids, but that excuse can only carry a person so far. In general I would like to get my house organized to the point that it is easier to keep clean on a daily basis. Also, I want to declutter. Useless crap has no place in my home!

7. Potty train Rowan.

Lord help me if this actually takes a whole year, but he WILL BE TRAINED! It seriously doesn’t get any easier, no matter how many kids I’ve trained (all 2 of them HA!) but for reals, he is trying to break me. But 2017 is MY YEAR. The year of the toilet! 🚽✨

I thought I was going to make a top 10 list, but I don’t want to force it. Also, 10 things is a lot of things. I think this is enough to be getting on with. I feel like I’ve been putting things off for the past few years, really, waiting for our eventual move to the interior (happy dance πŸ’ƒπŸ») and now I’m still stuck in limbo with so many things. But! Change. It’s a comin’. Happy New Year everyone.

Lets make 2017 great again!

Or something.

The end.

Sarah xo

Leave a Reply

